Marijuana defense attorney Michael P. Manley represents clients in Flint and throughout Michigan
Even at a time when some states are legalizing the use of marijuana under certain conditions, the government is continuing to vigorously prosecute people for possession, manufacturing, distribution, cultivating and selling the drug, also known by many informal names such as "pot," "weed," "grass," and "reefer."
Marijuana charges can have serious consequences in Michigan. Even possessing a small amount of the drug in certain circumstances can result in significant fines and possibly even jail time. That's why it's critical that you clearly understand Michigan's marijuana laws.
Attorney Michael P. Manley realizes the penalties for drug convictions can be very severe. That's why he takes such cases very seriously right from the start. When you contact him, you know that your case will receive the attention it rightfully deserves.
Attorney Manley has years of experience handling drug offense cases involving marijuana. If you were arrested on marijuana charges or believe you are under investigation, call (810) 238-0500 and schedule a free case evaluation.
Is marijuana legal in Michigan?
Contrary to what some people might think, possessing marijuana is against the law in Michigan in most cases for most people. The exception is medical marijuana. People that use marijuana for medical reasons in Michigan must have a registry identification card issued by the State of Michigan granting them permission to use marijuana.
In order to obtain a medical marijuana registry card, that person must have a written letter from a physician recommending marijuana use. The patient must then register with the state to obtain a registry card.
Under Michigan's medical marijuana laws, it is legal to grow up to 12 marijuana plants in an enclosed, locked facility or possess up to 2.5 ounces. Patients and their caregivers are the only ones legally allowed to access the marijuana plants for patient use. Any violation of any of these laws can result in charges filed against a patient or caregiver.
But what makes these laws even more complicated is the federal government does not recognize the legal use of marijuana. You can learn more about this law in the section entitled Michigan's marijuana laws vs. federal marijuana laws.
What are the penalties for marijuana possession?
The penalties for possessing marijuana vary depending on several factors. These include the amount of marijuana and where the arrest took place. In general, anyone with less than 5 kilograms of marijuana can be sentenced to up to one year in jail and fined up to $2,000.
If someone is arrested for possessing marijuana in a park, the maximum penalties increase to 2 years in prison. However, if you are arrested for possessing marijuana in certain communities in Michigan, the penalties are much less. This includes Ann Arbor, where the penalty is simply a $25 fine for the first offense.
Make sure you understand the marijuana laws in your community if you have been charged with possession of marijuana. Contact Michigan attorney Michael P. Manley right away for legal guidance.
What should I do if I'm arrested on a marijuana charge in Michigan?
If you have been arrested on a marijuana charge in Michigan, we strongly urge you to take the following steps:
- Be polite throughout your arrest
- Keep your answers brief. A simple "yes" or "no" is often enough.
- Remember that anything you say can be used against you in a court of law
- Refuse to take a drug test
- Contact us as soon as possible. Attorney Manley can deal directly with police and make sure your rights are fully protected.