Close
Criminal Defense Attorneys
Flint, Michigan

(810) 238-0500

Methods that cops use to identify drunk drivers

Michigan DUI defense attorney

While sobriety checkpoints are illegal under the state's constitution, police have other ways of cracking down on drunk drivers. Some officers either make errors in judgment or take their efforts too far. This includes going after people who may not be driving drunk.

There are a number of methods police use to justify making a traffic stop or arrest. They will first watch your behavior while driving, including:

  • Failing to stay within the lines in the road
  • Braking too often, not enough or too abruptly
  • Failing to adhere to the posted speed limits or road conditions
  • Failing to comply with traffic laws, stop signs and traffic signals

When police make a traffic stop, they may then look for:

  • Slurred speech
  • Strange behavior
  • Odors coming from your car
  • Delayed responses to questions
  • Poor physical coordination

If you're driving late at night, an officer may even follow you and wait for you to make a minor traffic infraction so he or she can pull you over.

What are my rights if I'm pulled over?

If you are pulled over by police, it's important that you remain calm and follow orders. You must identify yourself and provide your driver's license and vehicle registration. If you're asked any questions about how much you have had to drink or where you are coming from, you don't have to answer.

If an officer suspects that you were driving drunk, you may be asked to perform a field sobriety test or roadside breath test. Should you be arrested based on the results of a roadside test, don't try to argue with the officer and don't resist arrest.

Get a DUI defense lawyer if you're arrested

A DUI charge isn't necessarily an end game, but a DUI conviction can be. If it's your first time being convicted, you could spend up to 93 days in jail and be fined $500 dollars.

Even after serving your time and paying your fine, your driver's license can be suspended for 30 days. You may face additional restrictions for 150 days. In addition, six points may be added to your driving record, a driver responsibility fee of $1,000 may be imposed and you may have to perform up to 360 hours of community service.

The best way to avoid these consequences is to consult with an experienced Michigan DUI defense attorney at Manley & Manley. To find out how we can help you fight your DUI charges, contact us online to schedule your free case evaluation.

Categories: Posts