Close
Criminal defense attorney Flint, Michigan

844-4-manley

Getting Your Life Back After A DUI in Michigan: A Lawyer Explains

Michigan DUI defense attorneyThe holiday season not only brings a slew of celebrations and festivities but also often results in more drivers under the influence of alcohol. Law enforcement knows this. They’re prepared to do whatever it takes to keep drunk drivers off the road. They may perform routine stops at any given moment.

In many cases, law enforcement officers will set up DUI checkpoints, which will require you to take a breathalyzer or field sobriety test if you are suspected of driving drunk.

Being arrested for DUI won’t just ruin your holiday. The consequences can last for years, even after you get your license back.

The consequences

If you are found to be operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08 or more, you will be arrested and booked at the nearest police station. You will also be issued a ticket or summons requiring you to appear in court.

You have the option to fight the charges. However, video evidence taken from police dashboard cameras could be presented – showing what happened during your field sobriety test.

Fighting DUI charges in Michigan can be difficult; the odds are often against you. Without the help of a highly skilled DUI defense lawyer, you could face:

  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • 30 days of license suspension
  • An additional 150 days of license restriction
  • A fine of up to $500
  • Having six points added to your driving record
  • A driver responsibility fee of $1,000

If you’re caught driving with a BAC level of .17 or higher, you could face:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • 1-year license suspension, with eligibility for restricted use after 45 days
  • 6 points added to your driving record
  • A driver responsibility fee of $1,000

That’s just for your first offense. With subsequent offenses, the consequences are even harsher.

The aftermath

After you have served your time and paid your fines, getting your life back can be a lengthy and expensive process. You may be required to do the following:

  • Attend drunk driving school
  • Undergo an alcohol addiction evaluation
  • Pay more for car insurance by purchasing SR-22 insurance

Even after you regain your driving privileges, you will most likely be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. In order to start your vehicle, you will have to blow into the device. If alcohol is detected on your breath, your vehicle simply won’t start. If you fail to install the device, your license plate can be confiscated.

If you have been arrested and charged with DUI, it’s important that you understand your rights. When police ask questions, simply remain silent and tell them you want an attorney.

Your next course of action should be to contact attorney Michael P. Manley. Based in Flint, he can help you devise a solid defense and work to ensure that you’re treated fairly.

Categories: Posts