Close
Criminal Defense Attorneys
Flint, Michigan

(810) 238-0500

What are Michigan’s new clean slate laws?

Most people deserve a second chance. That’s the premise behind Michigan’s new “Clean Slate” laws, which are intended to allow some adult and juvenile residents an opportunity to clear their criminal records of nonviolent crimes. How Michigan's Clean Slate laws work The new laws were approved last fall and took effect on April 11, 2021....

Read More »

What are my rights if pulled over for DUI?

A police officer approaches you and starts asking questions about drinking. You probably realize the officer suspects you of driving under the influence (DUI), also known as DWI or OWI. What are your rights? First off, it’s important to understand your rights if you’re suspected of DUI. Knowing them can make a difference as you...

Read More »

What are state and federal penalties for tax evasion?

Tax evasion occurs when a person or company illegally evades paying their tax liability. Simply having tax debt or being slightly behind on your tax debt payments doesn't constitute tax fraud. If a person is negligent, or if the government cannot prove beyond a reasonable doubt that a crime has been committed, the penalty for...

Read More »

Subsequent drug charges in Michigan can result in harsh penalties

Being convicted of a drug charge in Michigan can have serious consequences. People found guilty may face penalties that include jail time, fines, court fees, community service, suspension of their driver’s license and mandatory substance abuse counseling. If you have been convicted on a second, third or subsequent drug charge, the penalties get harsher. It’s...

Read More »

New expungement laws offer many a fresh start

When people have completed their sentence after a criminal conviction, they are said to have paid their debt to society. But the truth is a criminal record can impact your life long after you have paid fines and served time. It’s harder to get a good job. You may not be able to get a...

Read More »

Reasons why your DUI charge can be thrown out

If you were charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Michigan, the legal consequences can be harsh. A first DUI charge can result in: Up to 93 days in jail A fine between $100 and $500 Up to 360 hours of community service Driver's license suspension for 30 days Driver's license restrictions for 150...

Read More »

Methods that cops use to identify drunk drivers

While sobriety checkpoints are illegal under the state's constitution, police have other ways of cracking down on drunk drivers. Some officers either make errors in judgment or take their efforts too far. This includes going after people who may not be driving drunk. There are a number of methods police use to justify making a...

Read More »